Error when starting BIT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Error when starting BIT

I am working on a windows 2000 machine with BIT installed. When I start BIT I get an error that says "Directio.sys could not locate entry point PSGetprocessID in driver ntoskrnl.exe"

I click through and BIT comes up but I can't see a lot of the components like drives, cdrom etc.

Has anyone seen this? How can I fix it?

We don't support Windows 2000 with the latest V7 release of BurnInTest.

Directio.sys is used to collect some hardware system information details and do the low level hardware interaction required for tests like the parallel port test.

Comment

I'm using BIT V6. Is there a way around this problem? Maybe wiping the OS and running BIT from a bootable USB Drive? I'm really new to this software.

Comment

I am seeing the same error when starting v6 running on a clean install of 2000 w/ SP4. My key need right now is testing the parallel and serial ports on some vintage machines, so I installed the trial version of BIT to see if it will work for what I need. (As it stands now, the blank hard drive was formatted, Win2K was installed, updated to SP4 and BIT v6 was installed to the drive.)

As it relates to that, in addition to the error above on startup, I'm also getting a message that the parallel port driver isn't installed (or maybe it's that it can't be found), so 50% of my needed tests can't be run. I just didn't know if this startup error was related to the parallel port driver error.

Thanks for any help.
        Last edited by SVJeff; Sep-18-2013, 06:56 AM. Reason: Added install info

Comment

Directio.sys also contains the code needed to access the parallel port.

The missing function, PSGetprocessID, appears to only have been included in Windows XP and later releases. So it is missing from Windows 2000.

Windows 2000 is pretty old now. Some options would be to

A) Install XP on the machine rather than Windows 2000 (Or even Win7/8 for that matter)