Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Test results, 24 errors...

Hi there, I hope someone can help...

Ive been having software crash on me quite a few times recently (I'm a photographer, so software like Lightroom/Photoshop). I thought it might be a memory issue and so found/downloaded Memtest, which found 24 errors (on the first 'pass'... I had to stop the test as needed to use the machine again!) I took a picture on my phone, as I wasn't able to stop the test and export any results. (attached).Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0503.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	98.3 KB
ID:	35081

The memory installed is 4x4Gb ... http://www.corsair.com/memory-by-product-family/vengeance/vengeance-low-profile-16gb-dual-channel-ddr3-memory-kit-cml16gx3m4a1600c9.html

And the motherboard is a MSI P67A-GD53(B3)

I assume this test result means I have a faulty module, and I need to find/replace the correct module? Either this, or... (because its been a while since I took delivery of this machine) perhaps it would be better to replace all the memory?

Or perhaps its a problem with the board? Sorry, this really isn't a strong point for me... if anyone can offer any advice it would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Ben.

Yes, it looks like a real error.

Next step is to work out which model is at fault and replace it.

So you might want to repeat the test with 2 of the 4 modules installed. Then repeat with the other 2.

Should be no need to replace all 4 modules.

Comment

Ok, ran the test overnight, and it came up with quite a few errors! ...
      Click image for larger version

Name:	img505.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	99.2 KB
ID:	34824

I think it might be best to just replace all the memory. There are 4 slots, but was thinking of replacing with 2x8gb's, leaving me the option to upgrade to 32 in the future... is that ok, or should all slots be used?

The motherboard memory spec is...
      • Supports four unbuffered DIMM of 1.5 Volt DDR3 1066/1333/1600*/2133*(OC) DRAM, 32GB Max