I've Cloned but I'm not sure what to Mount

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've Cloned but I'm not sure what to Mount

Hi. First of all THANK YOU for such a great program! I'm completely new to all of this, but I'm not new to IT in general. That's why I'm having such a hard time grasping that I can't seem to figure this out.

I cloned an XP laptop using OSFClone. Cloned the complete drive to an external hard drive. I plugged that into my computer and I see that the E drive is now called "Acer" and that there are indeed files and folder in that drive that seem like they should be there. I have a folder called i386 and one called WINDOWS that are dated with yesterday's date. Which is when I cloned the laptop. The rest of the files and folders, including a hidden one called ACER, are dated from as far back as 2009. So, when I open up OSFMount, I have no idea what to mount. I didn't do an image of the drive, so I assume I'm not looking for an .iso file.

Please feel free to laugh and such. I know the answer must be so easy. But I don't even know where to start without reformatting my external drive and starting again. I'll do it if I have to. But I really don't want to.

Thanks for any help you can give!

When you copy a drive there are two high level options.

- You can copy the entire drive to another physical drive. In which case you can then just plug in the drive and use it without any special software. Doing this will destroy an pre-existing data on the destination drive. It might also waste space on the destination drive if the destination is larger than the source.

OR

- You can copy the entire drive to a single file on another disk. In this case the destination drive needs to be already formatted and no existing data is destroyed. In this case the destination file is called a image file. Commonly used file extensions are .iso, .dd, .img, etc..