Need help understanding Game PC's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help understanding Game PC's

I have a few general questions about the components of game PC's and which components have priority over others when considering a purchase. My boss and I work in the PC repair business and we just put together a budget PC under $1,000 including all components and windows 7 home. When we built it, we didn't really look into detail of all of the hardware like we should have. For example. When we purchased the MB, we read that it had PCIE 2.0, just glancing over it we assumed it had 2 x PCIE2.0 slots so that we could enable crossfire later if needed. Now I'm reading that crossfire is not even needed, and in some cases can't be used unless the games engine will utilize it. In some posts I read that using one higher quality graphics card would be better than running two lesser quality cards in crossfire even if the specs were even. Like running an ATI 5970 vs (2) ATI 5850's in crossfire.
    Also, I'm not sure how important a passmark overall score is for a PC, but our score is horrible for this machine. It scored an overall 1,567.1. I was upset when I started comparing it to other systems on the sites 20 best and worst systems. Mine rated 2nd to last in the worst...

I know this all sounds like a bunch of rambling, but could someone help me out in understanding the importance of each component in relevance to gaming?
    -Motherboard
    -CPU
    -Graphics card
    -RAM
    -HDD's and SSD's
    -Chipsets on the board
    -PCIE2.0 vs 1.0 or 1.1
    -Do I need dual PCIE for crossfire? or just one bad A** PCIE card?
    -Cooling and optimal temperatures for components.

Could someone also put them in order from most important to least?
    Thanks in advance and sorry for the noobie first post >.<

If you are curious of the build we made, it is as follows.
    -M4A88t-M by ASUS (flaw is the AMD 7 series chipset, could have gotten 8 for the same $$)