CPU mark composite average 45%+ lower than others

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CPU mark composite average 45%+ lower than others

I've got a Core 2 Quad Q9400 at 2.66Ghz, stock settings (Asus P5N-D) on W7 Pro 64bit. After running the CPU tests and comparing it to 3 other Q9400s, I've noticed a huge difference in performance.

Results:
    Integer Math, 506.6 vs. baselines of 1683+ (230%+ lower)
    Floating Point math, 1991.7+ vs. baselines of 2589.3 (30%+ lower)
    CPU Physics, 70.1 vs. baselines of 211.1+ (200%+ lower)
    String Sorting, 1034.6 vs. baselines of 1700+ (65%+ lower)

I'm familiar with computer hardware, but I'm no pro. Everything appears to be properly installed. The heat sync is properly set and my core temperatures idle at 34C. I recently sent my motherboard in to Asus of diagnostics and they claimed that it passed all tests.

I should also note: modern games such as Bad Company 2 and CoD: Black Ops seem to perform very poorly somewhat regardless of my video settings, almost as if there is a bottleneck somewhere in my system. I know it's not the GPU because I've tried it out in other PCs with similar specs and they're getting double my FPS.

System specs:
    Core 2 Quad Q9400 @ 2.66Ghz
    Asus P5N-D
    4gb DDR2 KVR RAM
    Radeon HD 4770
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Make sure you are using the 64 bit version of PerformanceTest and not 32 bit.
    Also make sure PT is using all 4 cores. Edit, Preferences and set processes to 4.

Bill
    Main Box*AMD Ryzen 7 5800X*ASUS ROG STRIX B550-F GAMING*G.SKILL 32GB 2X16 D4 3600 TRZ RGB*Geforce GTX 1070Ti*Samsung 980 Pro 1 TB*Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB*Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB*Asus DRW-24B3LT*LG HL-DT-ST BD-RE WH14NS40*Windows 10 Pro 21H2

Comment