Help choosing a processor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help choosing a processor

I’m a newbie here -- but also an oldie. My first computer had an 8086 processor and we booted up dos with a huge 5-1/2” floppy!

Anyway, I need to buy a new desktop and was wondering if you could recommend a processor.

Most of my computing is business related using Office and the internet. Internet computing capabilities are extremely important as I work from home using DSL.

I’m typing this on a Pentium 4 3.0ghz machine which has a CPU benchmark of 491. That was fast in 2004!

The processors today are ultra fast and I suspect the I-5 and I-7 series processors with CPU benchmarks in the 4,000 to 6,000 range would be overkill. But maybe not and that is the reason for the post.

I want a processor that that will take me out 6 – 8 years with little performance loss. I know that the motherboard bus speeds/chip sets can be important and can mean a longer useful life. Maybe there are other things that I may have overlooked?

I’m semi-retired so cost is a concern. I’ll buy Dell or HP from their outlet store. The I-7 860 machines from both of them are less than $800 and things get cheaper as you go to I-5 and I-3 processors. I’ve heard that there is a problem with Sandy Bridge processors and am hesitant to choose that one... or are they OK and should be considered?

Any suggestions for processors that will take me out 7 -10 years? Am I thinking about all of this properly?

Which version of Win 7 is best for me?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Gael

My first computer had an 8086 processor and we booted up dos with a huge 5-1/2” floppy!
    You got in late then. I had a few 8-inch floppy disks.

I want a processor that that will take me out 6 – 8 years with little performance loss
    Anything you buy today will seem very very old and slow in 8 years.