How do I upgrade my Packard Bell imedia S2100 processor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I upgrade my Packard Bell imedia S2100 processor

I want to upgrade my processor but I have never done this before and could do with some help.

I have a Packard Bell IMedia S2100 with AMD E2-1800 EPU with Radeon HD 7340 Graphics.

I have Windows 7 already installed on PC when I bought it so I have no Windows 7 discs. But I did create recovery discs.

The package says socket FT1 BGA. 4 GBytes DDR3 memory.

I am looking at getting a AMD 6 Core FX 6300 4.1 Ghz + Gigabyte 78LMT USB 3 Motherboard

or

AMD Quad Core FX4100 3.6 Gigabyte 78LMT USB 3 Motherboard.

I also read a AMD Phenom 11 X4 945 3.0GHz Quad-Core Processor + a Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 Micro ATX AM3+ Motherboard would be good.

The above are about all I can afford so naturally I am looking for best value for money. I saw these on the net for sale as bundles.I guess I need to know is it particularly difficult installing the above and do you know of any good links that could help me when I do get the cpu and MB. If you know a better cpu and motherboard or indeed if I can get away with just a processor without a new motherboard that would be great.

Any help would be much appreciated and I can give more info on my system as needed.

Thanks

I think the AMD E2-1800 CPU uses a BGA413 connection to the motherboard. BGA = Ball Gate Array, which is for surface mount soldering. So I don't think there will be any upgrading of the CPU without the motherboard.