Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AMD vs. Intel Benchmarks

Hi,

I am new to this subject of evaluating processors and ranking them and I have a question. It seems that in recent times it has become in-style to hate Intel. Everyone mocks them and sings the praises of AMD (for example this article among many others: https://www.notebookcheck.net/Humili....489519.0.html). Looking at CPU Benchmarks it does seem like AMD gets higher overall ratings than Intel for CPUs in the same price range. For instance, the Intel Core i7-10700 is rated at 17518, whereas the AMD Ryzen 7 3700X is rated at 22778 (source for Intel: https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php....90GHz&id=3747) (source for AMD: https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php...+3700X&id=3485). However, I don't understand the justification for this. Both processors seem to have 8 cores and 16 threads. As far as single thread ratings the Intel CPU appears to be far superior!

I understand that these average ratings are complicated. I saw another thread on here where David briefly explains how they are calculated. But surely Single Thread Performance should count for something. Even if AMD is better at other things, isn't single thread performance a key thing for the average user?

Also, I've noticed that on other processors AMD just has more cores while Intel has the better ones (if I'm not mistaken). But then doesn't it just become a quality vs. quantity thing? I don't know anything about how CPUs are made, but wouldn't it be easier to just stuff a bunch of cores on a chip rather than have to make sure they actually have top performance?