New Intel i9 build - advice selecting a model

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Intel i9 build - advice selecting a model

I am new to this forum, but have been building computers for almost 35 years now, and I also work in IT for my day job. I am planning to upgrade an old rig to Intel i9 for my main desktop and looking for some advice on CPU selection.

USAGE (listed in order of most important):
    Heavy multi-tasking of productivity apps - 100+ browser tabs open + a dozen or so programs (ex. Office, Slack, Teams, etc)
    Live streaming - about once a month
    Video editing - about a dozen videos per month, about 1 hour each
    Virtual Machines - about 1-2 times per month, sometimes running multiple VMs at once (move to containers at some point)
    Gaming - 2-4 hours a week, latest games

OTHER NON-CPU COMPONENTS:
    BOARD: Asus ROG Z490 - exact model TBD
    RAM: 64GB Corsair Veng Pro
    VIDEO: RTX 2080 Ti
    BOOT: NVMe Samsung 980 PRO, 1TB

CPU OPTIONS:
    I am not looking to do any crazy overlocking, other than what might be natively available as "turbo" I will be using a Noctua cpu cooler (had my fill with liquid-cooled)
    Now I am looking to purchase one of the following (list is limited only to i9 + under $600)

CPU - Passmark - Price
    i9-10900K - 24,181 - $530
    i9-7920X - 23,338 - $470
    i9-10850K - 22,535 - $487
    i9-10900 - 21,289 - $470
    i9-9900K - 18,876 - $350

Then there is the i9-10980XE which can be found for $650, which seems expensive but is currently ranked the fastest i9 processor on the board at a whopping score of 34,264. Considering that score, it seems that price is a great value, when limiting comparison to i9 only. Only issue is it won't run on a Z490, so need to go even more expensive on the board, which does not appeal to me. Reviews on that cpu were not very good... am I missing something here?

THE QUESTION!