I bought a new computer yesterday. Hereīs my setup:

Motherboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
    Processor: Intel I7-930
    RAM: Crucial DDR 3 - 6 GB - 1600 gHz memory
    Hard Drive: Western Digital Black 1 TB
    Graphic Card: MSI N240GT
    Soundcard: Asus Xonar
    Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit

In performance test it gets 2008 points - still when i install games it takes much longer time than my old computer to install.
    What is wrong with it? Itīs also slow in opening programs while i install, i mean small ones like IE or Opera. This feels like the exact opposite of what it is supposed to do.

My old computer had the same OS but a MUCH slower processor: AMD Dualcore 6000+ and only 3 GB in RAM.

Shall this processor have the 32-bit os instead? Im totally new at Intel and have always used AMD before without any processor-related problems.

/Mikael

Where the disk results OK. Low disk speeds can make he entire PC feel sluggish.

Comment

Originally posted by passmark View Post
      Where the disk results OK. Low disk speeds can make he entire PC feel sluggish.

The disk tests are:
      Disk Mark: 689.7
      Disk Sequential Read: 92.5
      Disk - Seq. Write: 95.1
      Disk - Random Seek + RW - 3.18

Tested three times and these where in between.

That seems alright? Itīs the same disk as i used in my old computer, and its not an old disk, only about 6-7 months. 32 mb cache.

Comment

Disk speed looks OK.

Are these the same games as you were running on your old machine. Maybe the game install is longer simply becuase new games are larger than the old games. Do you have exact numbers.
        It might be normal that the browser is slow to open while the game install is in progress.

Comment

When i try to do something the computer almost always freezes and its frustrating. I install the same games i had on my old computer and then the installation took maybe 1-3.5 seconds per %. Now its more like 1 minute per every 10 %