Atheros 2 minute delay problem - Best wireless cards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Atheros 2 minute delay problem - Best wireless cards

I am an RF engineer who is new to this (802.11) environment but have quickly become aware of the Atheros problem with not recognizing that an AP has disappeared for 2 minutes. I am planning to use WirelessMon as a MetroMesh RSSI drive test tool and therefore have three primary requirements: the NIC must be PCMCIA compliant, have an external antenna port and be fairly quick and accurate with the RSSI readings. So far I have tested 6 different NICs (Intel Proset 2200, Ubiquity SRC, Proxim 8470-FC, Linksys WPC54G, Hawking USB, and Netgear USB WG111). The only two that work properly, that is have more or less instantaneous response to changes in RSSI are the Linksys and Netgear devices (Linksys (Broadcom chipset) best by far); unfortunately, neither comes with an external antenna. The Proxim and Ubiquity NICs do have an external antenna but come with the dreaded Atheros chipset and will hold an RSSI value for two minutes after the signal has vanished. Is there any solution to the Atheros problem? If not, are there any other NICs that someone could recommend that meet my requirements?
    Thx

We're not aware of any solution to the SSID caching problem, i had a look around for other Wireless card models that can be attached to external antennas but couldn't really come up with any suggestions for you to try (there was a cisco one but it isn't in production anymore).

Buffalo seem to have some USB models with upgraded antennas (http://www.buffalo-asia.com/cgi-bin/...&code=4&id=180 , http://www.buffalo-asia.com/cgi-bin/...&code=4&id=169 and http://www.buffalo-asia.com/cgi-bin/...&code=4&id=179) but if you're in the US it seems they have an ongoing court case and aren't supplying wireless equipment in the US and i'm not sure which chipset they are using.

Comment