Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Software Exception Error in Burn-in Pro v8.1

Hello.

I am an Engineering Technician, currently working on developing test processes for a Dell T5810 Workstation that has (4) USB3.0 ports which we would like to test with Burn-in Pro (v8.1). We recently purchased some USB3.0 loopbacks and thought they were going to be ‘plug and play’, but are running into a few issues with them.

First, I successfully updated the Intel eXtensible 3.0 Host Controller driver on the PC from version 3.0.0.20 to 5.0.3.42 and confirmed all USB3.0 loopback plugs have FW2.4 on them. The latest driver (1.2.3.10) has also been loaded for the loopbacks (for Windows 7, 32-bit), using the Passmark Loopback driver zip file from the Passmark website.

When Burn-in Pro (v8.1) is launched, we immediately get (4) separate windows that pop-up showing a ‘Software Exception Error’. All (4) USB3.0 loopbacks show ‘Test in Progress’ on their respective LCD screens. None of the Tx/Rx LEDs are flashing (unlike the 2.0 loopbacks). Only the Power LED is illuminated. The 'Operations' column in the results tab for the USB3.0 plugs never increments (i.e. runs) like the other tests do.

We have successfully run the standalone Passmark USB3.0 Test program (v2.2), with no problems. The Tx/Rx and Power LEDs are all illuminated during this program execution.

Also attached are screenshots showing the BIP failure, along with test preferences showing the USBs are indeed recognized. We also have a .dmp file… but it is 93.0MB, so I’m not sure how to share that. Perhaps it would help diagnose what is causing this failure. I can upload other screenshots if needed.

The main issue here is… why the USB3.0 loopbacks seem to work properly with the standalone program, but not with BIP v8.1??? Are there any known compatibility issues with the latest revision (8.1) of BIP that just haven’t been resolved?